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Section Change 2011–2012 Version 1 2011–2012 Version 2 
Section 3 
General 

Attendance 
Requirements 

Revision 3.5 Compulsory Attendance 
PK and kindergarten students . . . 
 
Unless specifically exempted by the TEC, §25.086, a child who is 
at least 6 years of age, . . . 
 
A person who is 18 years of age or older and is enrolled in public 
school is required to attend school each day. Your school district's 
board of trustees may adopt a policy requiring a student who 
voluntarily enrolls in school or voluntarily attends school after his or 
her eighteenth birthday to attend school until the end of the school 
year if the student is under age 21.1 The offense of failure to 
attend2

 
 applies to a student who is subject to the district policy. 

 

3.5 Compulsory Attendance 
PK and kindergarten students . . . 
 
Unless specifically exempted by the TEC, §25.086, a child who is 
at least 6 years of age, . . .  
 
A person who voluntarily enrolls in or attends school after 
turning 18 years of age is also required to attend school each 
day.  
 
Note that, because of recent statutory changes3

 

, the offense of 
failure to attend school applies only to an individual who is 12 
years of age or older and younger than 18 years of age.  

Section 3 
General 

Attendance 
Requirements 

Addition 3.6.2 Time of Day for Attendance Taking 
Each campus . . . 
 
Your campus may select . . . The policy may —  

• allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-
taking time for the campus as a whole,  

• allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-
taking time for certain groups of students as described in 
3.6.2.2, or  

• allow for both of these circumstances. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

3.6.2 Time of Day for Attendance Taking 
Each campus . . . 
 
Your campus may select . . . The policy may —  

• allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-
taking time for the campus as a whole,  

• allow for each campus to choose an alternate attendance-
taking time for certain groups of students as described in 
3.6.2.2, or  

• allow for both of these circumstances. 
 
The policy may be adopted at any time during a school year. If 
the policy allows for a campus to choose an alternate 
attendance-taking time for certain groups of students as 
described in 3.6.2.2, a campus is free to choose an alternate 
attendance-taking time for a group of students as soon as the 
policy is adopted. If the policy allows for a campus to choose 
an alternate attendance-taking time for the campus as a whole 
and the policy is adopted after the start of the school year, a 
campus that wishes to change the attendance-taking time for 
the campus as a whole must wait until the next school year to 
do so. 
 

                                                      
3 TEC, §25.094(a) [SB 1489, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011] 
3 TEC, §25.094(a) [SB 1489, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011] 
3 TEC, §25.094(a) [SB 1489, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011] 
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These . . . 
 

3.6.2.1 Attendance Taking and Delayed Start of School Day 
. . . 
 

3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student 
Populations 
Your campus . . . To implement . . . as described in 3.6.2. The 
alternate . . . 

These . . . 
 

3.6.2.1 Attendance Taking and Delayed Start of School Day 
. . . 
 

3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student 
Populations 
Your campus . . . To implement . . . as described in 3.6.2. (The 
policy may be adopted at any time during the school year.) 
The alternate . . . 

Section 3 
General 

Attendance 
Requirements 

Addition 
and 

Revision 
 
 

3.6.3 Requirements for a Student's Being Considered 
Present or Absent for FSP (Funding) Purposes 
For official attendance accounting purposes, "excused" and 
"unexcused" absences . . . 
 
Students who . . .  
 
Note: These attendance provisions do not apply to the OFSDP or 
the Texas Virtual School Network. For special attendance 
provisions that apply to these programs, please refer to Section 11, 
on nontraditional programs. 
 
A student not actually on campus at the time attendance is taken 
may be considered in attendance for FSP purposes if the student 
— 
 

• is enrolled in and attending an off-campus dual credit 
program course (see 3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-
Taking Time for Certain Student Populations for 
instructions on how to record attendance for these 
students). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

3.6.3 Requirements for a Student's Being Considered 
Present or Absent for FSP (Funding) Purposes 
For official attendance accounting purposes, "excused" and 
"unexcused" absences . . . 
 
Students who . . . 
 
Note: These attendance provisions do not apply to the OFSDP, the 
HSEP, or homebound programs (general education 
homebound [GEH], special education homebound, or 
Compensatory Education Home Instruction [CEHI]). For special 
attendance provisions that apply to these programs, please refer to 
the applicable sections of the handbook. 
 
A student not actually on campus at the time attendance is taken 
may be considered in attendance for FSP purposes if the student 
— 
 

• is enrolled in and attending off-campus dual credit program 
courses and is not scheduled to be on campus during 
any part of the school day.  
 
Students who are enrolled in and attending an off-
campus dual credit program course and are scheduled 
to be on campus during any part of the school day 
should have their attendance recorded while they are 
on campus. See 3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking 
Time for Certain Student Populations for instructions 
on how to record attendance for these students if they 
are not scheduled to be on campus during the official 
attendance-taking time. 
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• is participating in an activity . . . Texas. 
 

. . . 
 
•  

is temporarily absent because of a documented 
appointment with a health care professional. A 
documented appointment . . . , such as a note from the 
health care professional.4

• is in his or her junior or . . . higher education. 
 

 The appointment must be . . . 
professional. 
 

Your school district must allow a student whose absence is 
excused for any of the previously listed reasons a reasonable 
amount of time to make up school work missed on these days. If . . 
. 

 
• is enrolled full-time in TxVSN courses. See 11.9 Texas 

Virtual School Network (TxVSN) for information on 
recording daily attendance.  
 
Students who are enrolled in one or more TxVSN 
courses but attend part of the day at a regular campus 
and who are not scheduled to be on campus during 
the official attendance-taking time should have their 
attendance recorded during the part of the day they 
are on campus. See 3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-
Taking Time for Certain Student Populations for 
instructions on how to record attendance for these 
students. 
 

• is participating in an activity . . . Texas. 
 

. . . 
 
• is temporarily absent because of a documented 

appointment with a health care professional licensed5 to 
practice in the United States. A documented appointment 
. . . , such as a note from the health care professional.6

• is in his or her junior or . . . higher education. 

 The 
appointment must be . . . professional. 
 

 
Your school district must allow a student whose absence is 
excused for any of the previously listed reasons (with the 
exception of the first two reasons, for which this paragraph 
does not apply) a reasonable amount of time to make up school 
work missed on these days. If . . . 
 
 
 
 
 

Section 4 
Special 

Addition 4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With 4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With 

                                                      
4 19 TAC §129.21(k), TEC, §25.087(b)(1)(A) 
5 You can access the Texas Medical Board's searchable database of licensed physicians at http://reg.tmb.state.tx.us/OnLineVerif/Phys_SearchVerif.asp. 
6 19 TAC §129.21(k) 

http://reg.tmb.state.tx.us/OnLineVerif/Phys_SearchVerif.asp�
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Education Disabilities 

First page of PK and Special Education Services chart, lower 
part of chart: 
 

PK and Special Education Services 

 Student 
Age4 

ADA 
Elig. 
Code 

Instructional 
Setting Code 

Grade 
Level 

PPCD 
Ind. 

ECI 
Ind. 

Child 
Count 

A student eligible for special education AND PK services who is — 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
A student eligible for special education services AND ineligible for PK 
services who is — 
served in the PK 
classroom for ½ 
day and in a S-C 
classroom for 
the other ½ day5 

3 or 4 2  half-
day 43  EE 1 0 3 

served in the PK 
classroom by 
PK and special 
education 
teachers for ½ 
day5, 7 

3 or 4 2  half-
day 42  EE 1 0 3 

served in the PK 
classroom by 
PK and special 
education 
teachers for the 
full day5, 7 

3 or 4 1  full-
day 42  EE 1 0 3 

served . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

 
 
 

Disabilities 
First page of PK and Special Education Services chart, lower 
part of chart: 
 

PK and Special Education Services 

 Student 
Age4 

ADA 
Elig. 
Code 

Instructional 
Setting Code 

Grade 
Level 

PPCD 
Ind. 

ECI 
Ind. 

Child 
Count 

A student eligible for special education AND PK services who is — 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
A student eligible for special education services AND ineligible for PK 
services who is — 
served in the PK 
classroom for ½ 
day and in a S-C 
classroom for 
the other ½ day5 

3 or 4 2  half-
day 43  EE 1 0 3 

served in the PK 
classroom by 
PK and special 
education 
teachers for ½ 
day5, 7 

3 or 4 2  half-
day 42  EE 1 0 3 

served in the 
PK classroom 
by PK and 
special 
education 
teachers for ½ 
day5, 7 and in a 
S-C classroom 
for the other ½ 
day 

3 or 4 1  full-
day 43 EE 1 0 3 

served in the PK 
classroom by 
PK and special 
education 
teachers for the 
full day5, 7 

3 or 4 1  full-
day 42  EE 1 0 3 

served . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Section 4 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Revision 

 
 
 
4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With 
Disabilities 

 
 
 
4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With 
Disabilities 
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Special 

Education 
Second page of PK and Special Education Services chart: 
 

PK and Special Education Services (cont.) 

 Student 
Age 4 

ADA 
Elig. 
Code 

Instructional 
Setting 
Code 

Grade 
Level 

PPCD 
Ind. 

ECI 
Ind. 

Child 
Count 

A student eligible for special education services receiving services in 
a childcare facility who is — 
served (in a 
collaborative 
effort with 
childcare 
personnel) 
by a special 
education 
teacher for 
at least 2 
hours but 
fewer than 4 
hours each 
day 

3 or 4 
2  
half-
day 

40 EE 1 0 3 

served (in a 
collaborative 
effort with 
childcare 
personnel) 
by a special 
education 
teacher for  
4 or more 
hours a day 

3 or 4 
1  
full-
day 

40 EE 1 0 3 

 

Second page of PK and Special Education Services chart: 
 

PK and Special Education Services (cont.) 

 Student 
Age 4 

ADA 
Elig. 
Code 

Instructional 
Setting 
Code 

Grade 
Level 

PPCD 
Ind. 

ECI 
Ind. 

Child 
Count 

A student who is eligible for special education services, is receiving 
services in a community-based childcare facility, and is — 
served (in a 
collaborative 
effort with 
childcare 
personnel) 
by a special 
education 
teacher for 
at least 2 
hours but 
fewer than 4 
hours each 
day 

3 or 4 
2  
half-
day 

91 EE 1 0 3 

served (in a 
collaborative 
effort with 
childcare 
personnel) 
by a special 
education 
teacher for  
4 or more 
hours a day 

3 or 4 
1  
full-
day 

91 EE 1 0 3 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Section 4 
Special 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Revision 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With 
Disabilities 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4.2.10 PEIMS Coding Charts for Students With 
Disabilities 
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Education Last section of same chart as shown in previous row of 

change document: 
 

A student eligible for special education services in a district with no 
available childcare setting within the community, receiving services in 
a multidistrict childcare facility, and who is — 
. . .        
. . .        
served in a 
S-C 
classroom 
within a 
childcare 
facility by a 
special 
education 
teacher for at 
least 2 hours 
but fewer 
than 4 hours 
each day 

3 or 4 2  half-
day 97 EE 1 0 3 

served in a 
S-C 
classroom 
within a 
childcare 
facility by a 
special 
education 
teacher for 
more than 4 
hours each 
day 

3 or 4 1  full-
day 97 EE 1 0 3 

 

Last section of same chart as shown in previous row of 
change document: 
 

A student who is eligible for special education services, is receiving 
services in a district-operated childcare facility, and is — 
. . .        
. . .        
served in a 
S-C 
classroom 
within a 
childcare 
facility by a 
special 
education 
teacher for at 
least 2 hours 
but fewer 
than 4 hours 
each day 

3 or 4 2  half-
day 45 EE 1 0 3 

served in a 
S-C 
classroom 
within a 
childcare 
facility by a 
special 
education 
teacher for 
more than 4 
hours each 
day 

3 or 4 1  full-
day 45 EE 1 0 3 

 
Section 4 
Special 

Education 

Revision 
 4.6.2.1 Homebound Notes 

In making . . . 
 
A student served in the special education homebound instructional 
arrangement/setting must be served by a highly qualified special 
education teacher (as defined by the No Child Left Behind Act). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

4.6.2.1 Homebound Notes 
In making . . . 
 
The teacher serving a student at home or hospital bedside 
(“homebound teacher”) while the student is in the special 
education homebound instructional arrangement/setting must 
be a highly qualified special education teacher if the 
homebound teacher is the teacher of record and is providing 
the student with direct instruction in the core academic 
subject area. However, the homebound teacher does not have 
to be highly qualified (but must be a special education 
teacher) if the homebound teacher is not the teacher of record 
and is serving in a support role by providing the student with 
only direct assistance. See 4.13 Teacher Requirements and 
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A student . . . 
 
A student . . . 
 
A student otherwise eligible for special education services who 
meets the four criteria above does not need to meet the criteria in 
the federal definition for other health impairment (OHI) to be eligible 
for homebound services. 

the TEA Guidance for the Implementation of NCLB Highly 
Qualified Teacher Requirements, available on the TEA Highly 
Qualified Teachers web page at 
http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index4.aspx?id=4650&menu_id=798. 
 
A student . . . 
 
A student . . . 
 
A student otherwise eligible for special education services who 
meets the three criteria above does not need to meet the criteria in 
the federal definition for other health impairment (OHI) to be eligible 
for homebound services. 

Section 5 
Career and 
Technical 
Education 

Revision 5.2 Eligibility and Eligible Days Present 
Your district . . . following four criteria: 
 

 1.  Each CTE course . . . 
 

2.  Your district . . .  
 
3. Your district . . .  

 
4.  To be eligible for CTE contact hour funding, your district 

must offer one or more programs of study in at least three 
different clusters. 

5.2 Eligibility and Eligible Days Present 
Your district . . . following four criteria: 
 

 1.  Each CTE course . . . 
 

2.  Your district . . .  
 
3. Your district . . .  

 
4.  To be eligible for CTE contact hour funding, your district 

must offer one or more coherent sequences of courses 
in at least three different career clusters7

Section 5 
Career and 
Technical 
Education 

. 
Revision 5.7.2 Practicum Course Eligibility Requirements 

CTE Practicum course . . . for definitions. 
 

• Practicum courses a . . . 
 

• Each Practicum course using a work-based learning 
instructional arrangement must consist of student 
participation in training appropriate to the student's 
program of study plus participation in related CTE 
classroom instruction. The course . . . 

5.7.2 Practicum Course Eligibility Requirements 
CTE Practicum course . . . for definitions. 

 
• Practicum courses a . . . 

 
• Each Practicum course using a work-based learning 

instructional arrangement must consist of student 
participation in training appropriate to the student's 
coherent sequence of courses plus participation in 
related CTE classroom instruction. The course . . . 

Section 6 
Bilingual/ESL 

Revision 
and 

Addition 
6.4.2 Exit Criteria 
TEXT OF CELL FOR 9TH GRADE ENGLISH READING AND ELA: 

6.4.2 Exit Criteria 
TEXT OF CELL FOR 9TH GRADE ENGLISH READING AND ELA: 

                                                      
7 A career cluster is one of the 16 career clusters around which CTE is organized. A list of the 16 career clusters and links to recommended sequences of courses can be found on the 
following TEA web page: http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=5415.  

http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index4.aspx?id=4650&menu_id=798�
http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=5415�
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State of Texas Assessmts. of Academic Readiness (STAAR) 
 
LABEL FOR THIRD ROW: Writing 
 
TEXT OF CELL FOR 9TH GRADE WRITING:  
Agency-Apprvd. Writing Test 
 

EOC English I Reading State of Texas Assessmts. of Academic 
Readiness (STAAR)3 

 

LABEL FOR THIRD ROW: English Writing 
 
TEXT OF CELL FOR 9TH GRADE ENGLISH WRITING:  
EOC English I Writing STAAR4 
 
NEW TABLE FOOTNOTES: 
2 For eligible LEP students receiving special education services 
 
3 Exception: TELPAS Reading Advanced High will be used for students 
repeating grade 9 in the 2011–2012 school year (since these students will 
graduate under the TAKS, not STAAR, program). 
 
4 Exception: An agency-approved writing test from the 2011–2012 list of 
approved tests will be used for students repeating grade 9 in the 2011–
2012 school year (since these students will graduate under the TAKS, not 
STAAR, program). 

Section 6 
Bilingual/ESL 

Revision 6.9.3 Students in Grades 9 Through 12 
Students in grades 9 through 12 may be counted for funding in a 
bilingual or ESL education program if they are served by at least 
one teacher who is certified in ESL for that grade level and who is 
responsible for meeting the linguistic needs of the LEP students. 
However, ESOL I and ESOL II must be taught by teachers who 
have an English or English Language Arts certification plus an ESL 
or Bilingual certification.  

6.9.3 Students in Grades 9 Through 12 
Students in grades 9 through 12 may be counted for funding in a 
bilingual or ESL education program even if they are served by 
staff members who are not bilingual/ESL-certified, but only if 
the staff members have received professional development in 
sheltered instruction. However, ESOL I and ESOL II must be 
taught by teachers who have an English or English Language Arts 
certification plus an ESL or Bilingual certification. 

Section 7 
Prekinder- 

garten 

Revision 7.2 Eligibility 
To be eligible for enrollment in a PK class, a child must be 3 or 4 
years of age on September 1 of the current school year and must 
— 
 

1. . . . 
 
6. have ever been in the conservatorship (foster care) of the 

Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) 
following an adversary hearing. 

 
Once . . . 

7.2 Eligibility 
To be eligible for enrollment in a PK class, a child must be 3 or 4 
years of age on September 1 of the current school year and must 
— 
 

1. . . . 
 
6. have ever been in the conservatorship of the Texas 

Department of Family and Protective Services (foster care) 
following an adversary hearing. 

 
Once . . . 

Section 9 
Pregnancy 

Related 
Services 

Revision 9.14 Test Administration During CEHI 
Students confined . . . 
  

9.14 Test Administration During CEHI 
Students confined . . . 
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(PRS)   

. . . 
 
A student receiving CEHI who returns to his or her campus to . . 
. 

  
. . . 
 
A student receiving CEHI who returns to her campus to . . . 

Section 10 
Nontraditional 

Schools 

Revision 10.10 Expulsion 
Your school district . . . 
 
To the extent authorized by the MOU, a student placed in a DAEP 
may be expelled if the student engages in serious misbehavior as 
defined by the TEC, §37.007(c).8

 
 

The following table . . . 
 
[TABLE] 
 
Students who . . . 

10.10 Expulsion 
Your school district . . . 
 
Your school district must also adopt consistent procedures 
for determining when a student has engaged in serious or 
persistent misbehavior violating the student code of conduct 
while placed in an alternative education program, for the 
purposes of expelling students from a DAEP for this reason 
(disciplinary action code 20).9

 
 

The following table . . . 
 
[TABLE] 
 
Expulsion from a DAEP can result in JJAEP placement if the 
conduct or expulsion warrants such placement and depending 
on the local student code of conduct and the MOU. 

 
Students who . . . 

Section 10 
Nontraditional 

Schools 

Revision 10.11.1 JJAEPs and School Districts in Counties With 
Populations Greater Than 125,000 
If your school district is in a county with a population greater than 
125,000, then your school district and the county juvenile board 
must annually enter into a joint memorandum of understanding 
(MOU), an annual written agreement that — 
 

1. outlines . . . ; 
 
2. defines . . . ; 
 
3. establishes that a student may be placed in the JJAEP if 

the student engages in serious misbehavior as defined by 
the TEC, §37.007(c)10

10.11.1 JJAEPs and School Districts in Counties With 
Populations Greater Than 125,000 

; 

If your school district is in a county with a population greater than 
125,000, then your school district and the county juvenile board 
must annually enter into a joint memorandum of understanding 
(MOU), an annual written agreement that — 
 

1. outlines . . . ; 
 
2. defines . . . ; 
 
3. identifies those categories of conduct that the school 

district has defined in its student code of conduct as 
constituting serious or persistent misbehavior for 

                                                      
8 TEC, §37.007(c) and §37.011(k)(3) and (l) [HB 968, 82nd Legislature, Regular Session, 2011] 
9 TEC, §37.007(c) 
10 [HB 968, 82nd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2011] 
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4. identifies . . . 

which a student may be placed in the JJAEP; 
 

4. identifies . . . 
Section 11 

Nontraditional 
Programs 

Addition 11.9 Texas Virtual School Network (TxVSN) 
For more information, please refer to the TEA Texas Virtual 
School Network web page at 
http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=4840&menu_id=2147483665 
and to the main TxVSN website at http://www.txvsn.org/. 

11.9 Texas Virtual School Network (TxVSN) 
The Texas Virtual School Network (TxVSN) is a statewide 
network that provides students throughout the state with 
access to online courses that address all of the Texas 
Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) and meet national 
standards for quality online courses. The network was 
established by Senate Bill 1788, passed by the 80th Texas 
Legislature, Regular Session, in May 2007. The TEC, Chapter 
30A, which established the TxVSN, does not affect the 
provision of distance learning courses offered under other 
law. The TxVSN creates an additional distance learning option 
for districts. 
 
Courses approved through the TxVSN review process first 
became available for grades 9 through 12 through the TxVSN 
statewide course catalog in January 2009. 
 
TxVSN online courses can be provided through the TxVSN 
statewide course catalog by a TxVSN provider school district 
or school, defined as a school district or open-enrollment 
charter school that meets certain eligibility requirements; 
Texas public and private institutions of higher education; and 
regional education service centers (ESCs), per 
commissioner’s rule. 
 
For more information on the TxVSN and to view the list of 
available courses in the TxVSN course catalog, visit the 
TxVSN website at http://www.txvsn.org/. 
 
The information and provisions in this subsection (Subsection 
11.9, including 11.9.1 through 11.9.4) apply specifically to the 
TxVSN and TxVSN courses. They do not apply to any other 
form of electronically delivered instruction. See 3.2.2.3 Time 
Spent in Self-Paced Course for requirements related to time 
spent in self-paced computer courses. 
 

11.9.1 Student Eligibility for the TxVSN 
A student who is enrolled in a school district or open-

http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=4840&menu_id=2147483665�
http://www.txvsn.org/�
http://www.txvsn.org/�
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enrollment charter school in this state may take one or more 
electronic courses through the TxVSN, provided the student 
meets eligibility criteria. 
 
A student is eligible to enroll in a course provided by the 
TxVSN only if the student meets the following three criteria —  
 

1. the student, on September 1 of the school year — 
a. is younger than 21 years of age; or 
b. is younger than 26 years of age and entitled to 

the benefits of the FSP under the TEC, §42.003; 
 

2. the student has not graduated from high school; and 
 

3. the student  — 
a. is otherwise eligible to enroll in a public school 

in this state; or 
b. meets the following requirements: 

i. is a dependent of a member of the 
United States military; 

ii. was previously enrolled in high school 
in this state; and 

iii. no longer resides in this state as a 
result of a military deployment or 
transfer. 
 

11.9.1.1 Student Eligibility for Full-Time Enrollment in TxVSN 
Courses 
"Full-time enrollment" means enrollment in five or more 
TxVSN courses. 
 
A student is eligible to enroll full time in TxVSN courses only if 
the student meets one of the following three criteria: 

 
1. the student was enrolled in a public school in this 

state in the preceding school year; 
 

2. the student has been placed in substitute care11

                                                      
11 Per the Texas Family Code, §263.001(a)(4), "substitute care" means the placement of a child who is in the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services or an authorized 
agency in care outside the child's home. The term includes foster care, institutional care, adoption, placement with a relative of the child, or commitment to the Texas Youth Commission. Note that, effective 
December 1, 2011, a reference in this handbook to the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission or the Texas Youth Commission means the Texas Juvenile Justice Department. 

 in this 
state, regardless of whether the student was enrolled 
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in a public school in this state in the preceding school 
year; or 
 

3. the student — 
a. is a dependent of a member of the United 

States military; 
b. was previously enrolled in high school in this 

state; and 
c. no longer resides in this state as a result of a 

military deployment or transfer. 
 
TxVSN Receiver Districts  
 
Students in Grades 9 Through 12: For the 2011–2012 school 
year, a student in grades 9 through 12 who is enrolled in a 
registered TxVSN receiver district is eligible to enroll full time 
in courses offered through the TxVSN statewide course 
catalog only if the student meets one of the three eligibility 
criteria above. 
 
TxVSN Online Schools 
 
Students in Grades 3 Through 11: For the 2011–2012 school 
year, a student in grades 3 through 11 is eligible to enroll full 
time in TxVSN courses that make up the full-time virtual 
instructional program offered by a TxVSN Online School only 
if —  
 

1. the student meets one of the three eligibility criteria 
above and 
 

2. the student is enrolled in a school district or open-
enrollment charter school that applied and was 
approved to participate in the full-time virtual school 
option called the TxVSN Online Schools (formerly 
known as the Electronic Course Program [eCP]) 
authorized under the TEC, §29.909, as that section 
existed on January 1, 2009.12

                                                      
12 As of the publication date of this handbook, the following three local education agencies (LEAs) meet this requirement: 1) Houston Independent School District (ISD): Texas Connections Academy at 
Houston, 2) Responsive Education Solutions: IQ Academy, and 3) Texarkana ISD: Texarkana ISD Virtual Academy. These LEAs will offer a full-time virtual program rather than instruction in individual 
content areas. For the 2011–2012 school year, these LEAs will not offer their virtual programs through the TxVSN course catalog. 
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11.9.1.2 Student Eligibility and Documentation 
For a student whose eligibility to enroll full-time in TxVSN 
courses is based on having been placed in substitute care, a 
court order related to the placement is acceptable 
documentation of eligibility. A copy of documentation 
showing that the Texas Department of Family and Protective 
Services or an authorized agency placed the student in 
substitute care is also acceptable. 
 
For a student whose eligibility to enroll in TxVSN courses is 
based on being a dependent of a member of the United States 
military and no longer residing in Texas because of a military 
deployment or transfer, the following must be on file: 
 

• documentation that a district employee verified the 
student's Department of Defense (DoD) photo 
identification for children of active duty service 
members. The documentation must include the printed 
name and signature of the person who verified the 
identification and the date that it was verified. 
Important: Your district should not make a copy of the 
identification. 
 
If the student has not been issued such an ID, then 
documentation must be on file that a district employee 
verified the military member's DoD photo identification 
(or other DoD-issued documentation indicating that 
the person is an active-duty member of the military) 
and verified documentation showing that the student 
is a dependent of the military member. The 
documentation to be kept on file must include the 
printed name and signature of the person who verified 
the DoD and other documentation and the date that 
they were verified, as well as a photocopy of the 
documentation showing that the student is a 
dependent of the military member. Important: Your 
district should not make a copy of the DoD 
identification. 
 

and 
 

• DoD-issued orders or other DoD-issued 
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documentation showing that the military member has 
been deployed or transferred outside of Texas. 

 

11.9.2 TxVSN FSP Funding and Attendance Accounting  
If an eligible student participates in course(s) offered through 
the TxVSN and meets the requirements for enrollment in a 
Texas school district or charter school, the student is eligible 
to generate FSP funding in the same manner as a student who 
receives instruction in a traditional classroom generates FSP 
funding. 
 
Enrollment in courses taken through the TxVSN may apply 
toward ADA eligibility status. For a TxVSN course to count 
toward ADA eligibility status, the student must successfully 
complete the course regardless of whether or not the student 
is physically present at the school when taking the online 
course. Successful completion is defined as earning credit for 
the online semester course. 
 
For purposes of determining the initial ADA eligibility code of 
a student enrolled in one or more TxVSN courses, the student 
is considered to be scheduled for and receiving instruction for 
55 minutes each day for each virtual course taken through the 
TxVSN.  
 
To determine a student’s ultimate ADA eligibility status for a 
semester, the district must consider whether the student 
successfully completed each TxVSN online semester course 
in which the student was enrolled. A student who was enrolled 
in an online semester course but did not successfully 
complete the course is no longer considered to have been 
scheduled for and receiving instruction for 55 minutes each 
day for that course. If the student did not successfully 
complete a TxVSN course, the district must adjust the 
student's ADA eligibility code and attendance accordingly and 
report this adjusted information in the third PEIMS 
submission. 
 
For purposes of recording a student's daily attendance, a 
student enrolled full-time in TxVSN courses (enrolled in five 
TxVSN courses) is considered to have been present (in 
attendance) for each day of instruction in the reporting period. 
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The daily attendance of a student who is not enrolled full-time 
in TxVSN courses is determined by whether that student was 
present or absent at the official attendance-taking time, or, if 
the student is not scheduled to be on campus at the official 
attendance-taking time, whether the student was present or 
absent at the alternate attendance-taking time set for that 
student. See 3.6.2 Time of Day for Attendance Taking and 
3.6.2.2 Alternate Attendance-Taking Time for Certain Student 
Populations. 
 
A student's enrollment in one or more TxVSN courses does 
not necessarily preclude your district from serving the student 
in other special programs, such as special education, career 
and technical education, bilingual/English as a Second 
Language education,  or Pregnancy Related Services. Nor 
does it necessarily preclude your district from receiving 
weighted funding for serving the student in those programs, 
provided all program requirements are met. See the applicable 
sections of the handbook for specific program requirements. 
The determination of whether a TxVSN course will meet the 
needs of a student with a disability must be made by that 
student's admission, review, and dismissal committee in a 
manner consistent with state and federal law.13

 
  

11.9.3 Additional TxVSN Requirements and Information 
A student who has begun enrollment in an electronic course 
and transfers from one educational setting to another is 
entitled to continue enrollment in the course. 
 
Your school district or open-enrollment charter school may 
not require a student to enroll in an electronic course. 
 
A student who resides in this state but who is not enrolled in a 
school district or open-enrollment charter school in this state 
as a full-time student may14

• may not in any semester enroll in more than two 
electronic courses offered through the state virtual 

 enroll in electronic courses 
through the TxVSN. A student to whom this paragraph applies 
— 

                                                      
13 TEC, §30A.007 (SB 1, 82nd Texas Legislature, First Called Session, 2011) 
14 Subject to the TEC, §30A.155 
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school network, 
 

• is not considered to be a public school student and is 
not eligible to generate FSP funding, 
 

• must obtain access to a course provided through the 
network through the school district or open-enrollment 
charter school attendance zone in which the student 
resides, 
 

• is not entitled to enroll in a course offered by a school 
district or open-enrollment charter school other than 
an electronic course provided through the network, 
and 
 

• is not entitled to any right, privilege, activities, or 
services available to a student enrolled in a public 
school, other than the right to receive the appropriate 
unit of credit for completing an electronic course. 
 

11.9.4 Examples 
 
Example 1 
 
A student who was scheduled for and receiving instruction in 
traditional classes for 185 minutes each day and who was 
enrolled in one TxVSN course would initially be reported with 
an ADA eligibility code of 1 - Eligible for Full-Day Attendance 
because the online course would be considered to be 55 
minutes of daily instructional time. However, if the student did 
not successfully complete the online course, then the student 
would be reported with an ADA eligibility code of 2 - Eligible 
for Half-Day Attendance because the 55 minutes for the online 
course could not be considered instructional time.  
 
Regardless of whether the student completed the TxVSN 
course successfully, the student's daily attendance would be 
determined by whether the student was present or absent at 
the official attendance-taking time or at the alternate 
attendance-taking time set for that student. 
 
Example 2 
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A student who was scheduled for and receiving instruction in 
traditional classes for 4 hours (240 minutes) each day and who 
was enrolled in one or more TxVSN courses would be reported 
with an ADA eligibility code of 1 - Eligible for Full-Day 
Attendance. Whether the student successfully completed the 
TxVSN course(s) would not impact the student's ADA 
eligibility code because the student would not need the 
additional 55 minutes generated by the online course to be 
eligible for full-day attendance. 
 
Regardless of whether the student completed the TxVSN 
course(s) successfully, the student's daily attendance would 
be determined by whether the student was present or absent 
at the official attendance-taking time or at the alternate 
attendance-taking time set for that student. 
 
Example 3 
 
A student who was scheduled for and receiving instruction in 
traditional classes for 1 hour (60 minutes) each day and was 
enrolled in two TxVSN courses would initially be reported with 
an ADA eligibility code of 2 - Eligible for Half-Day Attendance 
because each TxVSN course would be considered to be 55 
minutes of daily instructional time (110 minutes total for both 
TxVSN courses). However, if the student did not successfully 
complete both TxVSN courses, then the student would be 
reported with an ADA eligibility code of 0 - Enrolled, Not in 
Membership, because the minutes for the TxVSN courses 
could not be considered instructional time.  
 
Regardless of whether the student completed the TxVSN 
courses successfully, the student's daily attendance would be 
determined by whether the student was present or absent at 
the official attendance-taking time or at the alternate 
attendance-taking time set for that student. If the student did 
not successfully complete both TxVSN courses and was 
subsequently reported with an ADA eligibility code of 0, the 
student would not generate any FSP funding.  
 
Example 4 
 
A student who was enrolled full-time in TxVSN courses (i.e., 
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was enrolled in five TxVSN courses) would initially be reported 
with an ADA eligibility code of 1 - Eligible for Full-Day 
Attendance. If the student successfully completed all five 
courses, his or her ADA eligibility code would not change. If 
the student successfully completed only three or four of the 
courses, his or her ADA eligibility code would be changed to 2 
- Eligible for Half-Day Attendance. If the student successfully 
completed only two or fewer of the courses, his or her ADA 
eligibility code would be changed to 0 - Enrolled, Not in 
Membership. 
 
Regardless of whether the student completed the TxVSN 
courses successfully, the student would be considered to 
have been present (in attendance) for each day of instruction 
in the reporting period. If the student did not successfully 
complete at least three of the TxVSN courses and was 
subsequently reported with an ADA eligibility code of 0, the 
student would not generate any FSP funding. 
 

Section 13 
Glossary 

Addition Career and Technical Education Career Preparation and 
Practicum Courses – Teacher . . . industry. 
 
Center-Based Instruction – The instructional arrangement/setting 
code . . . ADA. 

Career and Technical Education Career Preparation and 
Practicum Courses – Teacher . . . industry. 
 
Career Cluster – One of the 16 career clusters around which 
career and technical education is organized. A list of the 16 
career clusters and links to recommended sequences of 
courses can be found on the following TEA web page: 
http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=5415. 
 
Center-Based Instruction – The instructional arrangement/setting 
code . . . ADA. 

Section 13 
Glossary 

Addition Student Detail Report – A . . . data of each student (Section 2). 
 
Suspension – See In-School Suspension and Out-of-School 
Suspension. 

Student Detail Report – A . . . data of each student (Section 2). 
 
Substitute Care – The placement of a child who is in the 
conservatorship of the Texas Department of Family and 
Protective Services or an authorized agency in care outside 
the child's home. The term includes foster care, institutional 
care, adoption, placement with a relative of the child, or 
commitment to the Texas Youth Commission15.16

 
 

Suspension – See In-School Suspension and Out-of-School 

                                                      
15 Effective December 1, 2011, a reference in this handbook to the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission or the Texas Youth Commission means the Texas Juvenile Justice Department. 
16 Texas Family Code, §263.001(a)(4) 

http://www.tea.state.tx.us/index2.aspx?id=5415�
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Suspension. 
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