In general, there are five basic requirements for someone new to the field of education to become a certified teacher. These requirements are not necessarily completed in sequence and it is recommended that you discuss your plans to become a teacher with an Educator Preparation Program (described below) early in the process.
The five basic requirements are:
- Obtain a Bachelor’s Degree
- Complete an Educator Preparation Program
- Pass Appropriate Certification Exam(s)
- Submit a State Application
Further details on each requirement:
Educator Preparation Program - You must complete educator preparation through an Approved Educator Preparation Program. These programs are offered through colleges, universities, school districts, regional service centers, community colleges, and other entities. Undergraduates typically enroll in an approved program at the college or university they are attending. Alternative Certification Programs, which may or may not be associated with a university or college, have been established and approved for those who already hold a bachelor’s degree.
Certification Exam(s) - You must pass the appropriate teacher certification exam(s) for the subject and grade level you wish to teach. Your Educator Preparation Program will help you determine the appropriate certification exam(s). You will need authorization from your program prior to test registration.
State Application – To obtain a standard certificate after passing the appropriate exam(s) and completing all program requirements, you must complete the application process. Consult with your Educator Preparation Program on how to complete this process. Important items in the application process include fingerprinting and a background investigation.
Fingerprinting – All first-time applicants for an initial credential must be fingerprinted as part of a national criminal background check. A $42.25 fingerprinting fee will be charged.
- Bachelor’s Degree - You must earn a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university. The only exemption from the degree requirement is for individuals seeking Career and Technical Education certification to teach certain courses. Texas institutions do not offer a degree in education. Instead, every future teacher must select an academic major of interest and, as described below, complete educator preparation courses.
Becoming Certified through an Alternative Certification Program
Becoming Certified through a University Based Program
For additional information regarding requirements, you may refer to Title 19 Texas Administrative Code, §230.413.
December 03, 2013
Commissioner of Education Michael Williams announced today he has selected Margie Johnson – an attorney with more than 15 years of prosecutorial experience – to lead the new Texas Education AgencyOffice of Complaints, Investigations and School Accountability.
December 03, 2013
The newly published 2014 Texas School Law Bulletin is available for purchase. The Bulletin is current through the 83rd Legislative Regular and Special Sessions. The cost is $65 per copy. The cost per copy for non-profit institutions is $60. The Texas Education Agency accepts purchase orders from Texas educational institutions and government agencies only. Checks or purchase orders should be made out to the Texas Education Agency, William B. Travis Building, 1701 N. Congress Ave., Austin, TX 78701-1494. Customers may also purchase a copy of the Bulletin by contacting contact Ruth Ann Palm at (512) 463-9744 or by email at email@example.com.
November 22, 2013
Three Generation 18 charter school applicants today successfully completed the final step of the state's application process allowing them to begin operation in Texas for the 2014-2015 school year.
November 07, 2013
The Texas Education Agency today released the final 2013 state accountability system ratings for more than 1,200 school districts and charters, and more than 8,500 campuses. The final ratings are issued following an appeals process provided to districts and charters who contested district or campus ratings originally announced in August.