SBOE Member District 15


Marty Rowley Photo

Marty Rowley (R)
701 South Taylor, Suite 500
Amarillo, TX 79101
(806) 373-6278
(806) 220-2812 FAX 

Board Term: January 1, 2013 - January 1, 2017

Marty Rowley, the District 15 State Board of Education member, is an attorney and certified mediator from Amarillo.

A Republican, he was elected to the State Board of Education in November 2012 and took office on Jan. 1, 2013. Rowley serves as vice chair of the board's Committee on School Initiatives.

Rowley is accustomed to handling complex issues after spending more than 20 years as a Board certified attorney and seven years as a pastor at an 8,000 member church. Active in his community, Rowley is the immediate president of the Maverick Boys and Girls Club of Amarillo; past president of the CareNet Pregnancy Centers of Amarillo; and past chairman of Governmental Affairs Council of the Amarillo Chambers of Commerce.

He earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from Eastern New Mexico University. He holds a law degree from the Texas Tech School of Law, where he was on the 1982 National Championship Trial Advocacy Team. He has been president of the West Texas Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates.

Rowley is a member of the Texas State Bar Association, the Amarillo Bar Association, American Board of Trial Advocates, American Association of Mediators and the Texas Association of Mediators.

He and his wife have two sons and one daughter, who all graduated from the public schools.

Rowley represents citizens in the sprawling District 15, which includes these counties: Andrews, Archer, Armstrong, Bailey, Baylor, Borden, Briscoe, Callahan, Carson, Castro, Childress, Clay, Cochran, Coke, Coleman, Collingsworth, Cooke, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Dawson, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Gaines, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Haskell, Hemphill, Hockley, Howard, Hutchinson, Jones, Kent, King, Knox, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Midland, Mitchell, Montague, Moore, Motley, Nolan, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Sherman, Sterling, Stonewall, Swisher, Taylor, Terry, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Wheeler, Wichita, Wilbarger, Yoakum and Young.



Page last modified on 7/22/2013 02:02:39 PM.