No Child Left Behind/Elementary and Secondary Education Act

    Division of Federal and State Education Policy - ESEA Unit

    The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) was first passed by Congress as part of President Lyndon B. Johnson’s War on Poverty. The most recent reauthorization amending ESEA is the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (NCLB). The primary function is to close the achievement gap between groups of students by requiring greater accountability and offering increased flexibility and choice. NCLB affects almost every school district and charter school in the state.

    The Division of Federal and State Education Policy - ESEA Unit at the Texas Education Agency (TEA) is responsible for the state-level administration of specific programs under NCLB and the Ed-Flex Partnership program.

    TEA Waiver Request

    The Texas Education Agency (TEA) has requested that the U. S. Department of Education (USDE) waive specific provisions of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), as amended by P.L. 107-110 No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001. The waiver requests, if granted, would give TEA and more than 1,200 local education agencies (LEAs) additional flexibility while reducing duplication.

    The complete waiver request is available for viewing at the following link:

    Programs and requirements administered by the ESEA Unit

    Title I, Part A – Improving Basic Programs

    Title I, Part D – Delinquent

    Title II, Part D – Enhancing Technology

    Title IV, Part A – Safe and Drug Free Schools and Communities (SFDSC)

    Title V, Part A – Innovative Programs (IP)

    Title VI, Part A – Funding Transferability (FT)

    Title VI, Part B – Rural Education Achievement Program (REAP)

    Title VI, Part B, Subpart 2 – Rural Low-Income Schools (RLIS)

    Title VII – Indian, Native Hawaiian, and Alaska Native Education

    Title VIII – Impact Aid Program

    Title IX, Part E, Subpart 2 – Unsafe School Choice Option (USCO)/School Safety Choice Option (SSCO)

    Ed-FLEX Waivers

    Programs and requirements administered by other TEA Divisions

    Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP)

    Title I, Part A – School Improvement Program (SIP)

    Texas Title I Priority Schools Grant Program (TTIPS)/School Improvement Grant (SIG)

    Title I, Part C – Migrant Education Program

    Title II, Part A - Teacher and Principal Training and Recruiting (TPTR)

    Highly Qualified Teachers

    Title III, Part A – English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement and Academic Achievement Act (ELA)

    Other TEA Divisions providing support for NCLB related programs and requirements

    Grants and Fiscal Compliance

    School Improvement and Support

    Educator Initiatives and Performance

    Program Monitoring and Interventions

    Performance Reporting


    For additional information, contact:

    Division of Federal and State Education Policy
    (512) 463-9414

    Page last modified on 4/25/2013 12:23:30 PM.