Committee of Practitioners Membership

Membership is outlined by statute, stating, "Each such committee shall include-

(A) as a majority of its members, representatives from local educational agencies;

(B) administrators, including the administrators of programs described in other parts of this title;

(C) teachers, including vocational educators;

(D) parents;

(E) members of local school boards;

(F) representatives of private school children; and

(G) pupil services personnel."

Representatives will be appointed by the commissioner of education.  Representation among the seven membership categories is ensured.

The Texas Administrative Code limits advisory committees to state agencies to a maximum of 24 members.  Therefore, the Association for Compensatory Educators of Texas (ACET) President is a non-voting member and the representative changes each year in October with the officer cycle of the ACET organization.

Geographic diversity will be accomplished by filling vacancies from Education Service Center (ESC) regions that have not been represented by a committee member in the longest amount of time.  Positions that require statewide representation are not included in the ESC region membership.  TEA may move regions up in the list when necessary to have representation from the largest LEAs.  COP members serve on the committee as long as they remain in the role in which they were selected for the committee or as long as they remain in a statutorily required representative role.


For additional information, contact:

Division of Federal and State Education Policy


Page last modified on 6/12/2013 10:21:39 AM.