TEA News Release 2




TEA News Releases Online


                                                                                                                  Sept. 9, 2010                                                              


 25 Texas schools win 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools award 


AUSTIN – Twenty-five Texas schools were today named 2010 Blue Ribbon Schools award winners by the U.S. Department of Education. The award honors schools that achieved academic excellence or made significant progress in closing the achievement gap.

Since its creation in 1982 by then Secretary of Education Terrel H. Bell, this prestigious program has honored more than 6,300 of America's most successful schools, including more than 500 Texas schools. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools. The schools are selected based on one of two criteria:

  • schools that dramatically improve student performance to high levels on state tests;
  • schools whose students achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests.

The winning Texas schools were recommended by an intra–agency committee at the Texas Education Agency that examined student achievement statistics for the more than 8,000 public school and charter campuses in the state. The schools selected have demonstrated success in closing the achievement gap and each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 40 percent or greater. Schools that receive the award serve as models of best practices for schools across the state.

After being identified by the state, the schools competed in a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education.

Schools that receive the prestigious award will be recognized at the Blue Ribbon Schools conference in Washington, D.C. on Nov. 15-16 where each recipient will receive a plaque and a flag signifying their status as a Blue Ribbon School.

The schools recognized for Dramatic Improvement are:

Beaumont ISD – Dr. Carrol Thomas, superintendent

Ogden Elementary – Wayne Wells, principal


Bloomington ISD* – Bradley S. Williams, superintendent

Bloomington Elementary – Israel Salinas, principal


Corpus Christi ISD – D. Scott Elliff, superintendent

Marvin Baker Middle – Darla Reid, principal


Houston ISD – Dr. Terry B. Grier, superintendent

Albert Sidney Johnston Middle – Dave Wheat, principal


Hurst–Euless–Bedford ISD – Dr. Gene Buinger, superintendent

Central Junior High – Jonathan James, principal

Hurst Junior High – Lesli Guajardo, principal


Jacksonville ISD* – Dr. Joe Wardell, superintendent

Fred Douglass Elementary – Amber Penn, principal


Richardson ISD – Dr. Kay E. Waggoner, superintendent

Lake Highlands Junior High – Veronica Escalante, principal


Scurry–Rosser ISD* – Chris Couch, superintendent

Scurry-Rosser Middle – J.R. Proctor, principal


The schools recognized for high performance are:


Alief ISD* – Dr. Louis B. Stoerner, superintendent

Alief Kerr High – Greg Freeman, principal


Dallas ISD – Dr. Michael Hinojosa, superintendent

H.S. Thompson Learning Center –   Kamalia Cotton, principal

James B. Bonham Elementary – Sandra Fernandez, principal

Glasscock County ISD* – Steve Long, superintendent

Garden City High – Ken Hoskins, principal


Houston ISD – Dr. Terry B. Grier, superintendent

J.P. Cornelius Elementary – Karen Jackson, principal

James Burrus Elementary – Jesse Woods, Jr., principal

Oak Forest Elementary ­– Scott Pollack, principal

Briarmeadow School – Peter Heinze, principal


Jacksonville ISD* – Dr. Joe Wardell, superintendent

West Side Elementary – Sandi Jones, principal


La Vega ISD* – Dr. Sharon M. Shields, superintendent

La Vega Elementary – Shaunte Stewart, principal


Lone Oak ISD* – Eddie White, superintendent

Lone Oak Elementary – Judy Steadham, principal


Mason ISD* – Pam Kruse, superintendent

Mason High – Chris Habecker, principal


Richardson ISD – Dr. Kay E. Waggoner, superintendent

Dover Elementary – Brona Comeaux–Hudson, principal


South Texas ISD – Dr. Marla M. Guerra, superintendent

South Texas High School for Health Professions – Barbara Heater, principal


The Varnett School* – M. Annette Cluff, superintendent

The Varnett School – East Campus in Houston– Twilet Alexander,


United ISD* – Roberto J. Santos, superintendent

Trautmann Elementary – Cynthia Rodriguez, principal


* This is the first Blue Ribbon School nomination for the district.



Page last modified on 9/9/2010 09:32:56 AM.