TEA News Release 2




TEA News Releases Online

Dec. 3, 2010


26 Texas schools nominated for 2011 Blue Ribbon honors  


AUSTIN – Commissioner Robert Scott today announced the nomination of 26 Texas public schools for the 2011 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. The award honors schools for academic excellence and for significant progress in closing the achievement gap.

For the past 28 years, this prestigious program has honored more than 5,800 of America's most successful schools, including almost 500 Texas schools. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools. The schools are selected based on one of two criteria:

  • schools that dramatically improve student performance to high levels on state tests;
  • schools whose students achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests.

The nominated schools were recommended by an intra–agency committee that examined student achievement statistics for the more than 8,000 public school and charter campuses in the state. The schools selected have demonstrated success in closing the achievement gap and each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 40 percent or greater.

Schools nominated for the award serve as models of best practices for schools across the state. 

The nominated schools will now complete a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education. Announcements of the award winners will be made in September 2011.

Schools that receive the award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon School conference in Washington, D.C.

The schools nominated for the Improvement category are:


Alpine ISD*: Dr. Jose A. Cervantes, superintendent
Alpine High School: Verl L. O’Bryant, principal

Beaumont ISD: Dr. Carrol Thomas, superintendent
Martin Elementary School (formerly Lucas Elementary School): Martha Fowler, principal

Breckenridge ISD*: Jennings Teel, superintendent
Breckenridge Junior High School: Lee Garner, principal

Corrigan-Camden ISD *: Thomas Bowman, superintendent
Corrigan-Camden High School: Elisha Bell, principal 

Corpus Christi ISD: D. Scott Elliff, superintendent
Blanche Moore Elementary School: Janie Vela, principal

El Paso ISD: Dr. Lorenzo G. Garcia, superintendent
Coldwell Elementary School: Jason Yturralde, principal

Mount Pleasant ISD*: Freddy Wade, interim superintendent
Annie Sims Elementary School: Pam McCollum, principal

Richardson ISD: Dr. Kay E. Waggoner, superintendent
Westwood Junior High Math, Science, Leadership Magnet School: Troy Gray, principal

Sharyland ISD*: Scott B. Owings, superintendent
B. L. Gray Junior High School: Cynthia Wilson, principal
Sharyland North Junior High School: Leticia Leal, principal

Socorro ISD*: Dr. Xavier de la Torre, superintendent
Escontrias Elementary School: Dr. Magdalena Aguilar, principal

Stamford ISD*: Brad Lewis, superintendent
Oliver Elementary School: Susan Mueller, principal

The schools nominated for the High Performing Schools category are:

Dallas ISD: Dr. Michael Hinojosa, superintendent
Dallas Environmental Science Academy: Angela West, principal
Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School: Vivian Taylor, principal
Rosie Sorrells School of Education and Social Services: Tamela Horton, principal
School of Science and Engineering; Jovan Wells, principal

El Paso ISD: Dr. Lorenzo G. Garcia, superintendent
Silva Magnet School for Health Professions: Dr. Steven Lane, principal

Galveston ISD*:Larry Nichols, superintendent
Austin Middle School: Cathy Vanness, principal

Houston ISD: Dr. Terry B. Grier, superintendent
E. A. “Squatty” Lyons Elementary School: Cecilia Gonzales, principal
Eastwood Academy High School: Rolando Treviño, principal
Challenge Early College High School, Justin Fuentes, principal

La Porte ISD*: Lloyd W. Graham, superintendent
Lomax Elementary School: Vickie Gentile, principal

Nederland ISD*: Robert Madding, superintendent
Hillcrest Elementary School: Karen Noble, principal

Rising Star ISD*: Dr. Max Thompson, superintendent
Rising Star Elementary School: Barbara Long, principal

Spring Branch ISD: Dr. Duncan Klussmann, superintendent
Westchester Academy for International Studies: Dr. Natalie Blasingame, principal

YES Public Schools: Christopher Barbic, chief executive officer
YES Prep Southwest Campus: Christopher Claflin, school director


* This is the first Blue Ribbon School nomination for the district.


Page last modified on 12/3/2010 10:23:28 AM.