TEA News Release 2

TEA News Releases Online

Sept. 15, 2011

 26 Texas schools earn 2011 Blue Ribbon honors   


AUSTIN –  Twenty-six Texas schools today won the prestigious 2011 Blue Ribbon Schools award from the U.S. Department of Education.

This program has recognized more than 6,500 of America's most successful schools, including about 500 Texas schools, since its creation in 1982. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools. The schools are selected based on one of two criteria:

  • schools that dramatically improve student performance to high levels on state tests;
  • schools whose students achieve in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests.

The nominated public schools were recommended by a Texas Education Agency committee that examined student achievement statistics for the more than 8,000 public school and charter campuses in the state. The schools selected have demonstrated success in closing the achievement gap and each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 40 percent or greater.

Schools nominated by TEA for the award serve as models of best practices for schools across the state. 

The award-winning schools will be recognized at the Blue Ribbon School conference Nov. 14-15 at the Washington, D.C. Omni Shoreham Hotel.

The schools selected for the Improvement category are:

Alpine ISD*: Wayne Mitchell, interim superintendent
Alpine High School: Verl L. O’Bryant, principal

Beaumont ISD: Carrol Thomas, superintendent
Martin Elementary School (formerly Lucas Elementary School): Martha Fowler, principal

Breckenridge ISD*: Jennings Teel, superintendent
Breckenridge Junior High School: Jessica Stapp, principal

Corrigan-Camden ISD *: Thomas Bowman, superintendent
Corrigan-Camden High School: Elisha Bell, principal 
Corpus Christi ISD: D. Scott Elliff, superintendent
Blanche Moore Elementary School: Janie Vela, principal

El Paso ISD: Terri Jordan, interim superintendent
Coldwell Elementary School: Jason Yturralde, principal

Mount Pleasant ISD*: Lynn Dehart, superintendent
Annie Sims Elementary School: Pam McCollum, principal

Richardson ISD: Kay E. Waggoner, superintendent
Westwood Junior High Math, Science, Leadership Magnet School: Troy Gray, principal

Sharyland ISD*: Scott B. Owings, superintendent
B. L. Gray Junior High School: Cynthia Wilson, principal
Sharyland North Junior High School: Leticia Leal, principal

Socorro ISD*: Xavier de la Torre, superintendent
Escontrias Elementary School: Magdalena Aguilar, principal

Stamford ISD*: Arthur Casey, superintendent
Oliver Elementary School: Susan Mueller, principal

The schools that were selected to receive the award in the High Performing Schools category are:

Dallas ISD: Alan King, interim superintendent
Dallas Environmental Science Academy: Angela West, principal
Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School: Vivian Taylor, principal
Rosie Sorrells School of Education and Social Services: Alice Black, principal
School of Science and Engineering: Jovan Wells, principal

 El Paso ISD: Terri Jordan, interim superintendent
Silva Magnet School for Health Professions: Fred Rojas, principal

Galveston ISD*:Larry Nichols, superintendent
Austin Middle School: Cathy Vanness, principal

Houston ISD: Terry B. Grier, superintendent
E. A. “Squatty” Lyons Elementary School: Cecilia Gonzales, principal
Eastwood Academy High School: Paula Fendley, principal
Challenge Early College High School: Tonya Miller, principal

La Porte ISD*: Lloyd W. Graham, superintendent
Lomax Elementary School: Vickie Gentile, principal

Nederland ISD*: Robert Madding, superintendent
Hillcrest Elementary School: Karen Noble, principal

Rising Star ISD*: Max Thompson, superintendent
Rising Star Elementary School: Barbara Long, principal

Spring Branch ISD: Duncan Klussmann, superintendent
Westchester Academy for International Studies: Natalie Blasingame, principal

YES Public Schools: Jason Bernal, chief executive officer
YES Prep Southwest Campus: Christopher Claflin, school director

 * This is the first Blue Ribbon School nomination for the district.

Additional information about the program and past award winners can be found at http://www2.ed.gov/programs/nclbbrs/index.html.



Division of Communications
1701 N. Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78757
Phone: (512) 463-9000
E-mail: teainfo@tea.state.tx.us


Page last modified on 9/15/2011 08:50:00 AM.