TEA News Release 2

    TEA News Releases Online

    Jan. 9, 2012


     26 Texas schools nominated for 2012 Blue Ribbon honors   


    AUSTIN – Commissioner Robert Scott today announced the nomination of 26 Texas public schools for the 2012 Blue Ribbon Schools recognition. The award honors schools for academic excellence and for significant progress in closing the achievement gap.

    Since 1982, this prestigious program has honored more than 6,000 of America's most successful schools, including 538 Texas public schools. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools. The schools are selected for one of two honors:

    • Improving - Schools that dramatically improve student performance to high levels on state tests
    • High Achieving - Schools whose students rank in the top 10 percent based on performance on their state standardized tests

    The nominated schools were chosen through an objective evaluation of student achievement statistics and other data for the more than 8,000 public school and charter campuses in the state. The schools selected have demonstrated success in closing the achievement gap, and each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 40 percent or greater.

    Schools nominated for the award serve as models of best practices for schools across the state. 

    The nominated schools will now complete a rigorous application process through the U.S. Department of Education, and announcements of the award winners will be made in September 2012. Schools that receive the award are recognized at the Blue Ribbon School conference in Washington, D.C.


    Texas 2012 Blue Ribbon Nominees


    High Performing Schools




    Brownsboro ISD

    Chandler Elementary School

    Tina Eaton

    Cedar Hill ISD

    Bray Elementary School

    Robert Johansen

    Dallas ISD

    Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet

    Anthony Palagonia

    George West ISD

    George West Primary

    Patrick James

    Gruver ISD

    Gruver Elementary School

    Amber Holland

    Houston ISD

    East Early College High School

    Tamera Bolden

    Houston ISD

    Project Chrysalis Middle School

    Jose Covarrubia

    Katy ISD

    Diane Winborn Elementary School

    Kelly Ricks

    Lamar Consolidated ISD

    William Velasquez Elementary School

    Heather Patterson

    Montgomery ISD

    Montgomery Elementary School

    Wendy Graves

    Redwater ISD

    Redwater Elementary School

    BeBe Hayes

    Socorro ISD

    Mission Early College High School

    Armando Aguirre

    Sundown ISD

    Sundown Elementary School

    Scott Marshall


    Improving Schools




    Austin ISD

    Graham Elementary School

    Blaine Helwig

    Blue Ridge ISD

    Blue Ridge High School

    Danny Henderson

    Dallas ISD

    C.A. Tatum Jr. Elementary School

    Elena Hill

    Dallas ISD

    Umphrey Lee Elementary School

    Tondolyn Louise Mosley

    El Paso ISD

    Douglass Elementary School

    Lugarda Dominic

    Fort Worth ISD

    Edward J. Briscoe Elementary School

    Shawn Buchanan

    Houston Heights Learning Academy

    Houston Heights Learning Academy

    Yvette East

    Houston ISD

    Dogan Elementary School

    Artice Hedgemon

    Houston ISD

    Grady Middle School

    Gretchen Kasper-Hoffman

    Houston ISD

    Petersen Elementary School

    James Ferguson

    La Marque ISD

    Inter-City Elementary School

    Erin Cole

    San Antonio ISD

    Fox Tech High School

    Dawn Parker

    South San Antonio ISD

    Zamora Middle School

    Patti Annunzio

    Page last modified on 4/27/2012 03:02:27 PM.