TEA News Release 2

    TEA News Releases Online


    Sept. 7, 2012


     16 Texas schools earn 2012 Blue Ribbon honors    


    AUSTIN – Sixteen Texas schools today were announced as recipients of the prestigious 2012 Blue Ribbon Schools award from the U.S. Department of Education.

    This program has recognized more than 7,000 of America's most successful schools, including about 500 Texas schools, since its creation in 1982. The Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle and high schools. The schools are selected based on one of two criteria:

    • dramatically improving student performance to high levels on state tests;
    • students scoring in the top 10 percent of their state on state tests.

     “I congratulate these schools on their recognition for outstanding performance,” said Texas Commissioner of Education Michael L. Williams. “They are examples of what our schools can accomplish through the hard work and dedication of our teachers, administrators, students and parents.”

    The nominated schools were chosen through an objective evaluation of student achievement statistics and other data for the more than 8,000 public school and charter campuses in the state. The schools selected have demonstrated success in closing the achievement gap, and each school has an economically disadvantaged population of 40 percent or greater.

    Schools nominated by the Texas Education Agency for the award serve as models of best practices for schools across the state. 

    The award-winning schools will be recognized at a Blue Ribbon School ceremony Nov. 12-13 in Washington, D.C.

    Four schools were selected as Improving Schools:

    Blue Ridge ISD: Todd Lintzen, superintendent

    Blue Ridge High School: Danny Henderson, principal


    El Paso ISD: Dr. Terri K. Jordan, superintendent

    Douglass Elementary School: Lugarda Dominic, principal


    San Antonio ISD: Dr. Sylvester Perez, superintendent

    Fox Technical High School: Dawn Parker, principal


    Austin ISD: Dr. Meria J. Carstarphen, superintendent

    J. Walter Graham Elementary School: Blaine Helwig, principal


    Twelve schools were selected to receive the award in the High Performing Schools category are:


    Cedar Hill ISD: Horace Williams, superintendent

    Bray Elementary School: Robert Johansen, principal


    Brownsboro ISD: Dr. Chris Moran, superintendent

    Chandler Elementary School: Tina Eaton, principal


    Katy ISD: Alton Frailey, superintendent

    Diane Winborn Elementary School: Kelly Ricks, principal


    Houston ISD: Dr. Terry B. Grier, superintendent

    East Early College High School: Tamera Bolden, principal


    George West ISD: Ty Sparks, superintendent

    George West Primary School: Patrick James, principal


    Gruver ISD: David Teal, superintendent

    Gruver Elementary School: Amber Holland, principal


    Dallas ISD: Mike Miles, superintendent

    Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet School: Anthony Palagonia, principal

    Socorro ISD: Patrick O’Neill, superintendent

    Mission Early College High School: Leticia Guerra, principal


    Montgomery ISD: Dr. Beau Rees, superintendent

    Montgomery Elementary School: Wendy Graves, principal

    Houston ISD: Dr. Terry B. Grier, superintendent

    Project Chrysalis Middle School: Dr. Jose Covarrubia, principal


    Sundown ISD: Mike D. Motheral, superintendent

    Sundown Elementary School: Scott Marshall, principal

    Lamar CISD: Dr. Thomas Randle, superintendent

    William Velasquez Elementary School: Heather Patterson, principal

    Page last modified on 9/12/2012 03:52:53 PM.