TEA News Release 2

    TEA News Releases Online

    Jan. 25, 2013


     Blue Ribbon Schools and Terrel Bell Award recipient
    to be honored Monday 


    AUSTIN – Sixteen Texas public schools will be honored as Blue Ribbon Schools and an Austin principal will be recognized as the recipient of the Terrel Bell Award at 9 a.m. Monday, Jan. 28, during the TASA Midwinter Conference.

    The ceremony will occur in Ballroom D of the Austin Convention Center.

    The Blue Ribbon program recognizes schools based on one of two criteria: (1) dramatically improving student performance to high levels on state tests; or (2) students scoring in the top 10 percent on state tests.   Since the program’s creation by the U.S. Department of Education in 1982, more than 500 Texas schools have received this honor.

    This year’s recipients are:

    Blue Ridge High School
    Blue Ridge Independent School District (ISD)

    Bray Elementary School
    Cedar Hill ISD

    Chandler Elementary School
    Brownsboro ISD

    Diane Winborn Elementary School
    Katy ISD

    Douglass Elementary School
    El Paso ISD

    East Early College High School
    Houston ISD

    Fox Technical High School
    San Antonio ISD

    George West Primary School
    George West ISD

    Gruver Elementary School
    Gruver ISD

    J. Walter Graham Elementary School
    Austin ISD

    Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet School
    Dallas ISD

    Mission Early College High School
    Socorro ISD

    Montgomery Elementary School
    Montgomery ISD

    Project Chrysalis Middle School
    Houston ISD

    Sundown Elementary School
    Sundown ISD

    William Velasquez Elementary School
    Lamar CISD

    Austin’s Graham Elementary will also take home a second honor when its principal Blaine Helwig receives the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding Leadership. Helwig is one of only seven principals in the country to receive the award this year.

    In announcing the award, the U.S. Department of Education commended Helwig for devising strategies to help students master fundamental math and reading skills and designing a progress monitoring system for teachers that pinpoints what students know and what they need to learn next.  The award is named for Terrel Bell, who served as the U.S. secretary of education from 1981 to 1985.

    The Blue Ribbon Schools Program is sponsored by the Texas Education Agency and the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA). Monday’s awards ceremony is sponsored by TASA,  the SHW Group and the Texas Association of School Boards.

    Note: Reporters are welcome to attend this event. However, you must stop at the conference registration desk and receive a badge.

    Page last modified on 7/9/2013 03:53:01 PM.