Online Store

Follow us...
Twitter Flickr You Tube Logo facebook

How Do I...



Many American colleges and universities accept the SAT® Subject Tests or Reasoning Test to admit, place, and advise new students. SAT Subject Tests measure students' knowledge and skills in certain subject areas. These include English, history, mathematics, science, and language. The SAT Reasoning Test measures students' critical thinking skills, including how well the student analyzes and solves problems.

Ask your school counselor for advice on which tests to take. These tests are usually taken in the 11th or 12th grade.


The PSAT/NMSQT (Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test) gives students practice for the SAT Reasoning Test. It also gives students a chance to enter National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) scholarship programs. This test is usually taken in the 10th or 11th grade.

The PSAT/NMSQT measures:

  • critical reading skills
  • math problem-solving skills
  • writing skills


College Board

The SAT and PSAT/NMSQT tests are provided by the College Board. This is a not-for-profit association that helps students, parents, and educators prepare for college. Learn how to prepare for and register for the SAT or PSAT/NMSQT at this link.


College Board

Note: This page links to a website outside of TEA. Content on these pages is not regulated or updated by TEA.