Appendix A—Acknowledgements

2019 Accountability Technical Advisory Committee (ATAC)

Representatives from districts, open-enrollment charter schools, and regional educational service centers (ESCs) met in October 2018 and February 2019 to make recommendations to address policy and technical issues for 2019 accountability.

School District and Open-Enrollment Charter School Representatives

Sara Arispe, Fort Worth ISD, Executive Director, Accountability & Data Quality, ESC Region XI

- Kevin Barlow, Arlington ISD, Executive Director, Research and Accountability, ESC Region XI
- Abigayle Barton, *Abilene ISD*, Associate Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, ESC Region XIV
- Susanne Carroll, *Victoria ISD*, Executive Director of Curriculum, Instruction, & Accountability, ESC Region III
- Julie Conde, *Responsive Education Solutions*, Executive Director of Accountability, BE/ESL Education, ESC Region XIV
- Beth Anne Dunavant, Pittsburg ISD, Assistant Superintendent, ESC Region VIII

Keith Haffey, *Spring Branch ISD*, Executive Director, Accountability & Research, ESC Region IV

Kelly Legg, Dumas ISD, Assistant Superintendent for Instruction, ESC Region XVI

Emily Lorenz, Calallen ISD, Director of Curriculum and Instructional Support, ESC Region II

Robert Lowry, Coolidge ISD, Superintendent, ESC Region XII

Annette Macias, *Ector County ISD*, Executive Director of Accountability, Assessment, and School Improvement, ESC Region XVIII

Kevin Malandruccolo, *Hays Consolidated Independent School District*, Coordinator of Accountability and Testing, ESC Region XIII

- Sarah Martinez, Leander ISD, Senior Director for Decision Support, ESC Region XIII
- Brian Moore, *Lamar Consolidated ISD*, Director of Research, Assessment, & Accountability, ESC Region IV
- Elvia Noriega, *Richardson ISD*, Executive Director, Accountability & Continuous Improvement, ESC Region X
- Donna Porter, Carthage ISD, Assistant Superintendent, ESC Region VII
- Francisco Rivera, La Joya ISD, Executive Director for Curriculum and Evaluation, ESC Region I

Sherrie Thornhill, Silsbee ISD, Curriculum Director, ESC Region V

- Theresa Urrabazo, *San Antonio ISD*, Executive Director, Accountability, Research, Evaluation and Testing, ESC Region XX
- Dash Weerasinghe, Plano ISD, Director of Assessment and Accountability, ESC Region X

ESC Representatives

- Michael Bohensky, Region XV ESC, Executive Leadership Specialist
- Ty Duncan, Region XVII ESC, Senior Specialist, Accountability & Compliance Services
- Belinda Gorena, *Region I ESC*, Administrator for School Improvement, Accountability, and Compliance
- Cheri Hendrick, Region XX ESC, Accountability and Assessment Specialist

Glenn Nathan, Region XIX ESC, Research Analyst

Laura Redden, Region VI ESC, School Improvement Lead

Micki Wesley, Region IX ESC, Director of Accountability and Compliance

2019 Accountability Policy Advisory Committee (APAC)

Representatives from legislative offices, school districts, and the business community met in November 2018 and February 2019 to review the recommendations made by the ATAC. The APAC either endorsed the ATAC proposals or recommended alternatives which were forwarded to the commissioner of education.

Legislative Staff

Mary Lynn Bunkley, Policy Advisor, Office of the Governor Chris Duke, Education Policy Assistant, Office of the Lieutenant Governor Tedd Holladay, Public Education Budget Analyst, Legislative Budget Board Amy Peterson, Committee Director, House Public Education Committee Andrea Sheridan, Senior Education Advisor, Office of the Speaker of the House Marian Wallace, Education Policy Advisor, Office of the Lieutenant Governor

School District/School Board/College & University/Education Organization Representatives

HD Chambers, Superintendent, *Alief ISD* Eddie Conger, Superintendent, *International Leadership of Texas* Andrew Kim, Superintendent, *Comal ISD* Steve Lecholop, Trustee—District 1, *San Antonio ISD* Cesar Maldonado, Chancellor, *Houston Community College* Donna McKethan, Director, Career and Technical Education, *Waco ISD* Gonzalo Salazar, Superintendent, *Los Fresnos CISD* Greg Smith, Superintendent, *Clear Creek ISD* Randy Willis, Superintendent, *Granger ISD*

Business/Other Representatives

Julia Erwin, Parent, *Texas Special Education Continuing Advisory Committee* Sandy Garcia, Coordinator for Special Programs, Compliance, and Monitoring, *ESC Region VI* Shannon Holmes, Executive Director, *Association of Texas Professional Educators* Cherry Kugle, Consultant, *Raise Your Hand Texas* William McKenzie, Editorial Director, *George W. Bush Institute* Mike Meroney, Consultant and Lobbyist, *Meroney Public Affairs* Robert Sanborn, President & CEO, *Children At Risk* Drew Scheberle, Senior Vice President, *Austin Chamber of Commerce* Annie Spilman, Legislative Director, *National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB)/Texas* Jeri Stone, Executive Director/General Counsel, *Texas Classroom Teachers Association* Laura Subrin Yeager, Parent, *TAMSA*

TEA Staff

Many people contributed to the development of the 2019 Accountability Manual. The project staff wish to thank these individuals for their expert advice and prompt review of our materials. Their comments greatly enhanced the accuracy and format of the document.

Executive Management

Mike Morath, Commissioner of Education Jeff Cottrill, Deputy Commissioner of Governance & Accountability

Project Leadership

Jamie Crowe, Executive Director, *Performance Reporting Division* Keith Cranford, Director, *Performance Reporting Division* Heather Smalley, Director, *Performance Reporting Division*

Contributors

Leslie Brady, Policy Specialist, *Performance Reporting Division* Jonathan Delgado, Outreach Coordinator, *Performance Reporting Division* Von Byer, General Counsel, *Legal Services* Eric Marin, Attorney, *Legal Services* Susie Villalpando, Senior Director, *Performance-Based Monitoring* Linda Roska, Executive Director, *Division of Research and Analysis* Lizette Ridgeway, Division Director, *Division of School Improvement*