Report of the State Board of Education Committee of the Full Board WORK SESSION

Learning Roundtable—Educating the Digital Generation November 17, 2015

The State Board of Education Committee of the Full Board met at 8:35 a.m. on Tuesday, November 17, 2015, in the Texas State Capitol Building, House Appropriations Hearing Room E1.030, 1100 N. Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas. The following members of the committee were present:

<u>Presiding</u>: Donna Bahorich, chair; Lawrence A. Allen, Jr.; Erika Beltran; David Bradley; Barbara Cargill; Ruben Cortez, Jr.; Pat Hardy; Tom Maynard; Sue Melton-Malone; Ken Mercer; Geraldine "Tincy" Miller; Marisa B. Perez; Thomas Ratliff

Absent: Martha Dominguez, Marty Rowley

Public Testimony

Work session and ad hoc committee meetings are exempt from oral public testimony.

DISCUSSION ITEM

1. Learning Roundtable—Educating the Digital Generation

(Board agenda page I-107)

This item provides an opportunity for the board to hear testimony from invited guests regarding instructional materials and educational technology. Statutory authority is the Texas Education Code (TEC), §31.003.

Mrs. Bahorich introduced the item and welcomed partipants to the Texas State Board of Education Learning Roundtable—Educating the Digital Generation.

Presentations were provided by the following panel member(s).

Science of Learning

Dr. Chuck Weaver, Professor and Chair, Baylor University, Department of Psychology and Neuroscience

Infrastructure

Jon Wilkins, Managing Director, Federal Communications Commission Anthony Swei, Co-Founder, EducationSuperHighway

ISD Superintendents

Dr. Steven Ebell, Deputy Superintendent, Clear Creek ISD

Dr. Deanna Lovesmith, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction, Belton ISD

Randy Moczygemba, Superintendent, New Braunfels ISD

Dr. Scott Muri, Superintendent, Spring Branch ISD

Dr. Karen Rue, Superintendent, Northwest ISD

Software & Information Industry Association (SIIA)

Brendan Desetti, Director, Education Policy

The Committee of the Full Board took a lunch break at 12:14 p.m., and reconvened at 1:05 p.m.

Content Providers

Jay Diskey, Executive Director, Association of American Publishers' PreK-12 Learning Group John Dragoon, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Richard Keaveny, Vice President, McGraw-Hill Education

Scott Kinney, Senior Vice President of Educational Partnerships, Discovery Communications, Inc. Jeff Lansdell, President, CEV Multimedia

Marc Nelson, Vice President Digital Strategy, Pearson Learning Services

Open Educational Resources (OER)

Dr. Geoff Fletcher, Principal, GH Fletcher Consulting

Dr. Richard Baraniuk, Director, OpenStax

Dr. Carl Blyth, Director, Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning (COERLL), University of Texas

Learning List

Jackie Lain, President

ISD Technology Directors/Officers

Scott Floyd, Director of Instructional Technology, White Oak ISD Karen Fuller, Chief Technology Officer, Klein ISD Mary Kemper, Director of Mathematics, Coppell ISD Lenny Schad, Chief Information Technology Officer, Houston ISD

Instructional Materials Coordinators' Association of Texas (IMCAT)

Kellie Skarda, Textbook Manager, Goose Creek CISD; and IMCAT President Matt Tyner, Manager, Textbook Services, Dallas ISD

Blended Learning

Heather Staker, Research Fellow, Clayton Christensen Institute Cat Alexander, Director of Blended Learning, Raise Your Hand Texas

State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA)

Lan Neugent, Interim Executive Director

Mrs. Bahorich adjourned the work session at 4:53 p.m.